Competitions

thumb
Bouldering competition
© monkeybrains, Mar 2011

Climbing competitions come in many forms, and are growing in popularity. Every Winter there are dozens of friendly bouldering competitions which are open to everyone - even beginners! If you are interested in entering one, or looking to improve, have a read of How to succeed in bouldering comps by Charles Arthur.

There are also national-level competition series like the BICC (leading), BBC (bouldering) and BRYCS (youth) that are only for elite climbers. British team member Gareth Parry writes about the Plywood Masters 2004 competition.

Our full Events Diary page also has dates for lectures, film festivals and even ROCKTALK picnics.

Fri, Nov 28: Winter Boulder Series Round 1
5pm Friday 28th November - 8pm Saturday 29th November at Durham Climbing Centre
Mon, Dec 1: The Foundry Winter Bouldering League R2
5.30-9.30pm @ The Foundry Climbing Centre, Sheffield
@ ( Link: The Foundry Climbing Centre )
Wed, Dec 3: VauxComp
4pm-10.30pm. VauxWall Climbing Centre
@ ( Link: VauxComp )
Fri, Dec 12: Winter Boulder Series Round 2
5pm Friday 12th December - 8pm Saturday 13th December at Durham Climbing Centre
Fri, Dec 12: Climbing Unit Winter Bouldering League Rd 3
6pm onwards 30 x boulder problems from V0 - V Hard and 4 age categories
* ( Read more )
@ ( Link: Facebook page )
Fri, Dec 19: Junior Winter Boulder Series Round 3
5pm Friday 19th December - Thursday 15th January at Durham Climbing Centre
@ ( Link: http://www.durhamclimbingcentre. )
Sat, Dec 20: Winter Climbing League Round 2
Round 2 20th Dec - 16th Jan Redpoint Climbing Centre Birmingham
@ ( Link: Redpoint Climbing Centre )
Fri, Jan 9: Climbing Unit Winter Bouldering League Rd 4
6pm onwards 30 x boulder problems from V0 - V Hard and 4 age categories
* ( Read more )
@ ( Link: Facebook page )
Sat, Jan 10: Sunderland Youth Bouldering Series Round 3
12pm onwards - Sunderland Climbing Centre
@ ( Link: #SYBS )
Sat, Jan 10: Mammut Climbing Challenge
Foundry Climbing Centre, Sheffield - 4 weeks to try and climb all 12 routes.
@ ( Link: Foundry Climbing Centre )
Mon, Jan 12: The Foundry Winter Bouldering League R3
5.30-9.30pm @ The Foundry Climbing Centre, Sheffield
@ ( Link: The Foundry Climbing Centre )
Fri, Jan 16: Junior Winter Boulder Series Round 4
5pm Friday 16th January - Thursday 19th February at Durham Climbing Centre
@ ( Link: http://www.durhamclimbingcentre. )
Sat, Jan 24: Winter Climbing League Round 3
Round 3 - Redpoint Climbing Centre Birmingham
@ ( Link: Redpoint Climbing Centre )
Sat, Jan 24: Winter Bouldering League Round 3
Round 3 - Redpoint Climbing Centre Birmingham
@ ( Link: Redpoint Climbing Centre )
Fri, Jan 30: Winter Boulder Series Round 3
5pm Friday 30th January - 8pm Saturday 31st January at Durham Climbing Centre
@ ( Link: http://www.durhamclimbingcentre. )
Sat, Feb 7: ROCfest 2015
Rock Over Climbing Saturday and Sunday 7th & 8th Feb
* ( Read more )
@ ( Link: Rock Over Climbing )
Sat, Feb 7: Foundry Bouldering Open (F-BO15)
The Foundry Climbing Centre, Sheffield
@ ( Link: F-BO15 )
Mon, Feb 9: The Foundry Winter Bouldering League R4
5.30-9.30pm @ The Foundry Climbing Centre, Sheffield
@ ( Link: The Foundry Climbing Centre )
Fri, Feb 13: Climbing Unit Winter Bouldering League Rd 5
6pm onwards 30 x boulder problems from V0 - V Hard and 4 age categories
* ( Read more )
@ ( Link: Facebook page )
Fri, Feb 13: Winter Boulder Series Round 4
5pm Friday 13th February - 8pm Saturday 14th February at Durham Climbing Centre
@ ( Link: http://www.durhamclimbingcentre. )
Fri, Feb 20: Junior Winter Boulder Series Round 5
5pm Friday 20th February - Thursday 26th March at Durham Climbing Centre
@ ( Link: http://www.durhamclimbingcentre. )
Sat, Feb 21: Winter Bouldering League Round 3
Super Final - Redpoint Climbing Centre Birmingham at our Birthday Bash
@ ( Link: Redpoint Climbing Centre )
Sat, Feb 21: Winter Bouldering League Final 3
Super Final - Redpoint Climbing Centre Birmingham at our Birthday Bash
@ ( Link: Redpoint Climbing Centre )
Thu, Mar 5: Winter Boulder Series Round 5
5pm Friday 5th March - 4pm Saturday 6th March at Durham Climbing Centre
@ ( Link: http://www.durhamclimbingcentre. )
Fri, Mar 6: Winter Boulder Series FINAL
4pm Saturday 6th March at Durham Climbing Centre
@ ( Link: http://www.durhamclimbingcentre. )