as646

My name is Alex Skates, I'm 24 years old and currently live in London -- although I'm soon moving to Sheffield. I've been climbing for coming up on 1.5 years and I'm utterly hooked on climbing.

As a consequence of my proximity to bouldering walls and the fact that it's what all of my friends do, I primarily boulder. I'm looking to start doing more sport though, perhaps some more trad as well -- it would be nice to start making headway into the E grades.

Email as646

Location
London

Best Climbing Experience
Deepwater soloing in Mallorca -- crystal clear water and endless powerful bouldery routes

Recent Postings

  • No posts in last 30 days

List all my recent posts.

Interests Outside Climbing
I love reading and I've started making a concerted effort to build a respectable library. I've just about filled a single bookcase as of now (albeit a small one).

Recently, I've become enamoured with the subjects of biochemistry and molecular biology. I spend a lot of time when I'm not working or climbing with my head buried in a textbook or doing some kind of online course on Coursera or similar. I'm planning on doing a Masters in a related subject next year, potentially going on to do a PhD after that.

as646, 4 kb

User Profile

registered 10/Sep/12
updated 07/Jan/14

Age
24

Been Climbing For
1 to 3 years

Best Onsights
Bouldering - f6B+
Sport - 6b+
Trad - HVS

Worked Grades
Bouldering - f7A
Sport - 7a
Trad - HVS

Main Sport/Activity
Bouldering

Favourite Crag/Rock
Devils Gorge
Limestone

Favourite Wall
Biscuit Factory

I Climb...
Most days
In the UK


Read more about user profiles and how to set up your own.