/ Falling

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Charley17 - on 04 May 2012
Ive been climbing for about three years and can confidently climb a lead 6a/b but im finding i cant climb anything harder because i dont want to fall. If i jump off i.e. practice lead falling, it doesnt bother me, i just cant seem to climb to my limit, till i cant hold on anymore, i always chicken out.
Any suggestions?
Johnny_Grunwald on 04 May 2012
In reply to Charley17:

This has been discussed at length on here before and there is some sound advice in and amongst the replies:

http://www.ukclimbing.com/forums/info/search.php?forum=0&dates=0&name=&topic=falling&...

You might practice resting on gear at a height where you won't risk injury and gain confidence in your placements. Some people actually practice lobbing themselves off as well.

My personal opinion though (and that's all it is) is just to get stronger and improve your technique without falling off. Good (trad) leaders don't fall, sports monkeys on the other hand......... ;-)
Ciro - on 04 May 2012

In reply to Charley17:

The good news is you've done (to my mind) the hardest bit - many poeple struggle with falling practice, once you've done that it's just a case of showing your subconscious that it's OK to lose control.

The easiest way to do this is to remove the other option. In a safe situation - ideally at an indoor wall - intruct your belayer that they should ignore the command 'Take' once you're a safe height off the ground (three bolts clipped perhaps) and tell you to keep climbing. Tell them to pay out slack if you start trying to downclimb, and give you dogs abuse if you grab a quickdraw or a hold from another route. Then get on routes that are well above your onsight limit. Pre-clip the first two bolts for safety if necessary, and go for it.