/ Matterhorn Send

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Jack_F - on 17 May 2012
Right, I've been thinking for a while about this and have decided that next year some time I would like to summit the Matterhorn.

Now I've got no Alpine experience what so ever apart walking up the grockle path on the Ben but I appreciate that it will be a full on challenge.

All I would like is some knowledge from some folks that have already done it or have some experience in alpine shenanigans with some insight of difficulties and other things associated with it.

Cheers all

Jack
steelbru - on 17 May 2012
In reply to Jack_F:
What on earth is the "grockle path on the Ben" ??
Fleeter - on 17 May 2012
In reply to steelbru: Would that be the main tourist path from Fort Bill?
alps-john on 17 May 2012
In reply to steelbru: A complete lack of "grockles" on the matterhorn will make it well hard for you.
steelbru - on 17 May 2012
In reply to alps-john:
It's not me that's trying to climb the Matterhorn mate........
George Ormerod - on 17 May 2012
In reply to Jack_F:

You'll never send the Matterhorn. Just imagine the postage, nevermind getting it into the post box.
alps-john on 17 May 2012
In reply to Jack_F: Due to the fact your only alpine experience is the tourist/easy path on the Ben. Get yourself a guide.
victim of mathematics - on 17 May 2012
In reply to alps-john:

I thought the prevalence of grockles and their rock-dislodging skills was one of the biggest dangers on't Matterhorn?
Jack_F - on 17 May 2012
In reply to alps-john: One thing I should have included is the fact that I'm the tightest student around. I've got a few friends that are pretty keyed up on Alpine malarkey though!
Goucho on 17 May 2012
In reply to Jack_F: Depends on whether you're doing it with a guide, or on your own.