/ Advice, Belaying a BIG beginner on a indoor wall

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
scotlass - on 20 May 2012
Ok folks the situation is this, I will be taking a 6'4 18 stone body builder type and a 14 year old 8 stone kid climbing next weekend at an indoor wall. they are both complete beginners so I will be doing all the belaying, I'am 5'6 and about 10 stone so you can see where the problem is.

I have a few ideas of how to achieve this, such as going up and putting an extra twist at the top or maybe putting my line through the bottom runner so he can only pull me up so far but as the UKC head is better than one I would like your advice or better ideas that you may have.

The wall has no floor anchors or weighted sand bags.

Thanks for your help guys
Kevin Woods - on 20 May 2012
In reply to scotlass: Eek that isn't do good ... I'm about the same size and weight, and had a 16 stone guy take an 8 metre whipper at the indoor wall - partly so large due to the difference in your weights. I went 2 metres off the ground. All I can suggest is to hold the rope as hard as you can. Otherwise, I have heard of people twist the rope a couple of times. Hope that helps.
the real slim shady - on 20 May 2012
In reply to scotlass: Is there a way that you could improvise your own weights? You may need to ask the wall to ise them as well though
poeticshambles - on 20 May 2012
In reply to scotlass: Tie the young lad to the back of your harness as a kind of sand bag, just don't let the DSS catch you.
MJ - on 20 May 2012
In reply to scotlass:

Stick close to the wall and accept/be ready for the fact that you might be taken off your feet.
When you're all stabilised, lower as normal. This includes if you're off the ground yourself - just lower as normal and everything will work it self out.
Jamie B - on 20 May 2012
In reply to scotlass: