/ Zermatt high level traverse

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Bradders - on 01 Jun 2012
Hi all,

Looking at doing a extended traverse of Breithorn, Pollux, Castor, Liskamm and Dufourspitze this summer and wanted to know if anyone had done it/knew any information about it. Thinking it will be about 3/4 days depending on how tired you are on descending the Dufourspitze.
Im interested in where people stayed and how long sections were. Is there any awkward route finding sections along route and which bit is the hardest.

Cheers
Bradley
richard_hopkins - on 01 Jun 2012
In reply to Bradders:
I did this a couple of years ago, but ended at the Margharita hut and traversed under Liskamm rather than along it as it looked a bit intimidating and I'm a novice. It was a spectacular trip and took us about 4 days. We more or less copied the route taken by the ISM Classic 4000m route described on their webpage. We didn't have a guide.
We had perfect weather. We did it at end of june / early july and route finding was straightforward as there were tracks to follow in the snow and the clear weather meant that we could basically just follow our noses and the map / compass was barely needed.

The only "interesting" glacier negotiation was between the Breithorn and Ayas hut which was a bit creative (the other glacier walking was on fully established paths which skirted round the obvious crevasses).

We stayed in Ayas (very pleasant), Quintino Sella (fine), Gnifetti (very crowded, noisy and a bit unpleasant) and Margherita (surprisingly good value given its elevation and very quiet with amazing views).

We climbed all of the peaks described in the ISM route and encountered no technical difficulties at all, but had acclimatised in Arolla earlier. A more experienced group could do it much quicker. I would imagine that traversing Liskamm and Doufourspitze would add more technical work to the traverse.

Going back in july for more :-)
Bradders - on 03 Jun 2012