/ Terrordactyls, Breakthrough or Development?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Double Knee Bar - on 23 Jun 2012
When the Terrordactyls arrived in the late 1960's were these a big step forward in ice axe design? Were these the first short shafted axes to be used in conjunction with front pointing or was there a predecessor?
Thanks in advance.
wee jamie on 23 Jun 2012
In reply to Double Knee Bar: I'm no expert, but as far as I'm aware the Terrordactyls were the first all-metal ice axe. They were shorter than the other popular axes of the time (Chouinard Zero/Curver Snowdon), they had an aluminium shaft that could take plenty of abuse, and they had a steep angle on the pick which had no curve on them (making them easier to remove from placements).
The front pointing revolution seems to have taken off in a few places around the globe at a similar time, and shorter axes and daggers were developed to accompany the new style.
Some good discussions on the subject can be found on the supertopo and cascade climbers websites.
Mick Tighe manages the Scottish Mountain Heritage Collection http://www.smhc.co.uk/ and is an authority on vintage ice tools. He has a unique pair of handmade chromed Terrordactyl replicas which are beautiful!
deepstar - on 23 Jun 2012
In reply to wee jamie: I think the MacInnes Massey all metal axes preceded the "Terrors".
SteveSBlake - on 23 Jun 2012
In reply to Double Knee Bar:

As has been stated they were preceded by several other all metal McInnnes designs. I had a McInnes North Wall Hammer, a very manly tool!

Someone on here will probably know in better detail, but my understanding is that 'short' axes were
a common adaption quite early on. Slaters tools were sometimes used, though whether or not with front pointing I don't know.....