/ 750 ish road bike??

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Dave McKechnie - on 03 Jul 2012
Afternoon all,

Currently got a hardtail MTB but looking to branch out into the world of road biking - the meain reason is I'm doing the biking leg of a triathlon in a few weeks so seemed like the right thing to do.

I appreciate that 750 is the lower end of the road bike market but does anyone have any recommendations?

The current favourite is the Wilier Montegrappa Sora 9

http://www.airevalleycycles.com/m1b0s6p6375/WILIER-Montegrappa-Sora-9-speed-2012

I could be tempted to spend a bit more but certainly not more than about 900.

What do you think??
ablackett - on 03 Jul 2012
In reply to Dave McKechnie: I'm no expert, but the prices on decathlon look great - eg.

http://www.decathlon.co.uk/btwin-facet-5-id_8127609.html

or they have a Aluminium frame with carbon forks for about 300.
carlo - on 03 Jul 2012
In reply to Dave McKechnie: Depends on what you want to do. Have a look @ FELT, I've just bought the Z6 which is much friendlier to someone with my back/age than the F6 which is more of an out @ out racer. I'm an ex racer so have some idea. Carbon fibre monocoque frame with decent spec for 1020.

Road is so much better - enjoy whatever you get.
Hat Dude on 03 Jul 2012
In reply to Dave McKechnie:

This looks a pretty good bargain, if it's the right size.

http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/Models.aspx?ModelID=84317

Hat Dude on 03 Jul 2012
In reply to Hat Dude:

Should've added better groupset & fairly decent wheels
carlo - on 03 Jul 2012
In reply to Dave McKechnie: If you ever want to upgrade then preferences should be with friction areas such as wheels, tyres, wheel hubs, BB etc where the quality will really be noticed.
kevin stephens - on 03 Jul 2012