/ new to MTB and need some advice re servicing bike

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
birdman - on 20 Aug 2012
Hello all,

I'm relatively new to mountain biking, been doing it off and ono for a couple of years, but one thing that is massively lacking is my mechanical knowledge.... it took me 45mins to change a tyre a few months ago :-(

My bike needs a bit of a service and was wondering if anyone had any good beta on websites that show you how to service etc, i've considered looking on youtube for DIY servicing, is this any good or does it need to be bike specific?

Cheers,

Tim
Horse on 20 Aug 2012
In reply to birdman:

This is a good resource:

http://www.parktool.com/blog/repair-help/tag/Maintenance

There are some good videos on YouTube, and some rubbish ones search for the thing you want to do, for example bleed brakes, change bottom bracket etc and add in the particular make of component although most are generic. You may need specific tools for some things.
adep247 - on 20 Aug 2012
Frank4short - on 20 Aug 2012
In reply to Horse: I'd echo what Horse has said. Park tool also have a fairly complete and up to date repair book which is handy too. Also worth checking out the late great Sheldon Brown's site http://sheldonbrown.com/repair/index.html If you're particularly clueless, which your post seems to indicate, though I wouldn't presume as much myself, it may be worth trying to find an amateur mechanics 1 day training course. This might cost you a few quid but will no doubt save you money in the long run.
Hephaestus - on 20 Aug 2012
In reply to Frank4short:
> it may be worth trying to find an amateur mechanics 1 day training course. This might cost you a few quid but will no doubt save you money in the long run.

Considering the 45mins to change a tyre, +1 for this advice.