/ What skis, bindings and boots for ski touring in Finland?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Flatus Vetus - on 13 Dec 2012
I'm going to Finland in March for 10 days. I will be camping for the duration and carrying all of my kit either in a rucksack or I'll be pulling a pulk. I'll be skiing mostly on the flat, often across frozen lakes or through forests. I will often be in areas where there are prepared tracks but I suspect I will be using skis that are too wide for the loipe (prepared tracks).
What skis/boots and bindings would be the best compromise for this trip? I'm thinking about NNN BC boots and bindings but this would mean that I will have to carry a pair of walking boots! Wearing a pair of Lundhags and using cable bindings would allow me to get away with taking only one pair of boots but I have little experience of cable bindings, how safe are they compared to the modern backcountry (Rottafella NNN BC/Saloman SNS) type binding?

Thanks in advance
FV
Doug on 13 Dec 2012
In reply to Flatus Vetus: Not sure what Lundhags are, but I've done all my Scandinavian skiing using leather XC boots (such as http://i.stpost.com/alico-backcountry-touring-nordic-ski-boots-75-mm-for-men-in-black~p~66492_27~150... either with 3pin or cable bindings. Such boots are fine for walking, although scrambling/climbing is a bit awkward die to the 'duckbill'. If anything, cables are more reliable than 3pins (& you can always carry a spare cable)
Dave - on 13 Dec 2012
In reply to Flatus Vetus: