/ Complete Newbie

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
tipsy - on 20 Dec 2012
Having never had a go at skiing in my life before, I'm contemplating a spontaneous last minute ski weekend over the Christmas break.

Any advice on how to go about this? Is it best to get lessons or just hire skis and have a go? I'd be going with a mate who can ski and I have good balance from surfing, mountain boarding, skating and the like (although I realize they're probably completely different)

Any tips?
iccy - on 20 Dec 2012
In reply to tipsy:

I'd definitely go for lessons. If you get a good instructor and some one-on-one coaching you can improve quickly - particularly if you're fit and strong.

It depends on how good your mate is, but it's not really worth going to one of the 'big' resorts for your first trip. You would pay a lot more for a lift pass and not get much of the benefit from all the extra runs.
ripper - on 20 Dec 2012
In reply to tipsy: If you have time to squeeze it in before you go, I'd recommend a lesson at one of those indoor snow slopes (Tamworth. Milton Keynes etc). Will give you a proper feel for what it's like sliding around with planks on your feet and a headstart when you get there.
tipsy - on 20 Dec 2012
In reply to ripper: Looking like I might end up going tomorrow now so probably no time for that! Potentially chamonix as know people to stay with there. Any reccomendations for good ski hire places and good schools?
Carless - on 20 Dec 2012
In reply to tipsy:

you definitely want to ski?

Sounds like you might be better boarding
tipsy - on 20 Dec 2012
In reply to Carless: Conundrum. I'd probably rather board. But I'd rather 'learn' to ski so that winter mountaineering becomes accessible.
tim000 - on 20 Dec 2012
In reply to Carless:
> (In reply to tipsy)
>
> you definitely want to ski?
>
> Sounds like you might be better boarding

+1
Carless - on 20 Dec 2012
In reply to tipsy: