/ Running Technique - Heel or Toe?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Josi - on 27 Feb 2013
I'm quite new to running and I'm trying to learn to run correctly before I pick up too many bad habits - I've been told I should be running so my toes make contact with the ground, not my heel - internet sites say all sorts of conflicting things - run landing on your toes, heels, mid way between your heel and your toe...

Is it then maybe a preference thing? Or do people think there's a right and wrong answer?
Stash - on 27 Feb 2013
In reply to Josi:
Do what feels right.
Josi - on 27 Feb 2013
I mostly run landing between my heel and my toe with my foot flat-ish - this feels most natural....
redscotti - on 27 Feb 2013
In reply to Josi: Depends on your natural stride pattern, your cadence, the terrain, the distance. Also different if you want to get into 'barefoot' (minimal shoes) running.
Josi - on 27 Feb 2013
In reply to redscotti: I read a bit about barefoot running and I've never used cushioned shoes anyway, so bought some barefoot shoes and they're great. They do encourage me to run a bit more on my toes, but it's still more foot flat-ish.
r0b - on 27 Feb 2013
In reply to Josi:

Concentrate on where your feet are striking the ground rather than how they are striking; feet need to be striking the ground underneath your centre of gravity, not in front of it
Ander on 27 Feb 2013
In reply to r0b:
> (In reply to Josi)
>
> Concentrate on where your feet are striking the ground rather than how they are striking; feet need to be striking the ground underneath your centre of gravity, not in front of it

r0b is right, imho.

If you're in barefoot shoes, I'd be surprised if you can overstride (and so heel strike) for a significant amount of time- though when you're tired someimes you'll likely tend towards landing on your heels.
Irk the Purist - on 27 Feb 2013
In reply to Josi: