/ ideas for beginner climb near Luberon

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
tnewmark - on 10 Apr 2013
Hi,

My girlfriend and I will be going on our honeymoon in Luberon in the South of France in June. And we were wondering if anybody with experience of that area can advise us where to go.

I've been climbing for about 9 months, with about 3 months leading indoors, and just a touch of outdoor sport. She's only top-roped indoor, but will probably do some leading practice indoors before we go.

We'd want route from about 5-6b. In a nice location, even with a lake nearby would be perfect! I'm getting the Cote D'Azur rockfax guide as Calanques looked a possibility, but I realise that our location is in the crossover between this and the Languedoc-Roussillon and Haute Provence rockfax guide.

If anyone can recommend some possibilities that would be greatly appreciated. I think Buoux is the closest but a bit worried it's not for the likes of us. Maybe too hard and a lot of finger pockets.

Also, we'll have a car so we can drive a bit but don't necessarily want to go too far.

Many thanks,

Tom
Zebdi - on 10 Apr 2013
In reply to tnewmark:

Orpierre and/or Chateauvert (Vallon Sourn). Both places offer superb routes, but expect a bit spaced protection in Chateauvert.

Oh, and you may want to avoid Buoux. Even easy routes require really good climbing technique. It's old school, really old school ;)

davepembs - on 10 Apr 2013
In reply to tnewmark: