/ How protective over your images should you be?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
richprideaux - on 08 May 2013
I suppose the answer to that is dependant on the individual...

Spotted one of my photos (a snap from a day in the hills featuring that person, not an image I spent any real length of time in creating) being used on a friend's personal website.

In the long run I don't care, and if they asked I would have given them a hi-res copy (this one pinched from FB I think) and it isn't something worth falling out over. However, should you always ask, even if it is just a snap taken by a friend?
r0x0r.wolfo - on 08 May 2013
In reply to richprideaux: Too far, if he's a friend and the guy in the picture. Tell him you're flattered he likes your work and give him a high res? Are you a professional?
In reply to r0x0r.wolfo:

In this case I'm not pursuing it as it isn't worth damaging a friendship over. I'm not a professional photographer, but the website is in competition with my own business.

I'm more interested in opinions about where you draw the line with use of images - if it is a professional work then you should be protective of it, but a quick snap is fair game?
Trangia - on 08 May 2013
In reply to richprideaux:

Out of curiousity how do you claim "ownership" of a picture? You take a shot of a friend climbing on your camera then it's obviously yours, but say you take one of the friend climbing on their camera at their request. Whose picture is it? You are the photographer, but it's their camera.....
In reply to Trangia:

I've also wondered about this... Personally in that case I would say it was theirs...
What Goes Up - on 08 May 2013