/ Your experience.. an apprenticeship in bouldering to routes

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
noxah - on 21 May 2013
I've been bouldering on and off for just under two years, I can flash V3 most of the time, V4 takes several attempts and working V5s - I climb at all London walls. I go on a few trips a year and climb routes outdoors but never manage to get up anything harder than a 6b, my head game isn't where I want it to be, I get pumped too quickly and find it difficult to read routes. I never really get around to real redpointing. I definitely feel I should be able to climb harder and things start to look really interesting in the 7s...

I know more or less what I need to do to get my routes grades up, climb routes and get mileage in and climb outdoors more often, which I'm going to focus on as soon as I recover from my finger injury but I'm wondering peoples thoughts and experience on going from an apprenticeship in indoor bouldering to outdoor routes.

How was it? What did you have to work on? What's possible? What to expect? Timeframes etc.

Looking forward to your responses,

Nathan
w.pettet-smith - on 21 May 2013
In reply to noxah: well no ones being very forthcoming so heres my two pence worth. Indoor bouldering will put you in very good stead in terms of a powerful base- your arms core and fingers are plenty strong enough to be climbing in the sevens!i cant think of any 7a sport routes that i have done with a crux harder than v3/v4.
it seems you already know that getting your head in gear and getting out lots are the main things you need to concentrate on,route reading will build naturally when you get on the rock. but you didn't mention anything about doing routes indoors. so do more of that! it seems a pretty important step between indoor blocs and outdoor routes to me. do some fall practise, get a good partner and get yourself to portland