/ Cadence

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Pids - on 06 Oct 2013
Went out road biking today in a group as opposed to solo, noticed that whilst we rode as a bunch most(ok, all others) seemed to be in easier gear and peddling fast whilst I was in harder gear peddling slower - I'm a beginner to all of this so why peddle in higher cadence, what are the benefits?
remus - on 06 Oct 2013
In reply to Pids: My (very limited) understanding is that a high cadence keeps your body working aerobically whereas it is easy to do anaerobic work when pedalling at a low cadence. Anaerobic work is bad for distance sports as your body isn't designed to handle large volumes of anaerobic exercise.
lost1977 - on 06 Oct 2013
In reply to Pids:

often kinder on knees, better response when you do change gears
JLS on 06 Oct 2013
In reply to Pids:

>"so why peddle in higher cadence, what are the benefits?"

Basically it's thought to be more efficient. Typically 90rpm is the number to be above.

It takes a bit of getting use to but you get there.

Aren't you riding a fixie to work? A low geared fixie is the ideal way of training leg speed.
Wee Davie - on 06 Oct 2013
In reply to Pids:

Straining at each pedal stroke is supposed to be bad news for your knees. I once met a guy at the Lonach Gathering who had kneecles (like cankles but higher up) caused by excessive hard training on a fixie. He'd had to bin cycling years previously but his knees were still as thick as his thighs- scar tissue? Chronic inflammation?
Lord of Starkness - on 07 Oct 2013
In reply to Pids: With lighter gearing and a higher cadence you can basically keep going for much longer. I'm comfortable pedalling in the range of 80 - 110 RPM.
woolsack - on 07 Oct 2013
In reply to Pids: Our club does a 66" gearing TT as a one off for some curious club trophy dating back to the 30's and some of the riders in that were having to pedal at around 130rpm
EddInaBox on 07 Oct 2013
In reply to Pids: