/ Don't get the whole winter ethics thing I'm afraid

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
NWR - on 08 Nov 2013
I am quite new to the winter climbing thing, but what I am struggling to understand after reading various posts on here last year is why I can't just go and do what I want in winter? I genuinely don't get it. How come summer rock jocks can claim crags and go 'clean' routes (destroy/remove flaura & fauna) but as soon as winter climbers start to mention early winter routes there is an uproar about damaging the rock.
And how come top winter climbers hit the crags early season with their axes and crampons claiming new routes (which seems fine to me) but if the rest of us did that we would be slagged off for damaging rock or similar.
Genuine question btw.
xplorer on 08 Nov 2013
In reply to NWR:

We don't talk about ethics, especially winter ethics. It's a definite no no.

I think it's because no one really understands exactly what's going on......

;-)
tallpaulselfridge - on 08 Nov 2013
In reply to NWR: I shall be watching this one closely! I'd say I'm 50/50 with you/disagree
highclimber - on 08 Nov 2013
In reply to NWR: it's a lot more complicated than this
Dave Kerr - on 08 Nov 2013
In reply to NWR:

It's really nothing to do to with damaging the rock and everything to do with the traditions of Scottish winter climbing.
NWR - on 08 Nov 2013
In reply to highclimber:
> (In reply to NWR) it's a lot more complicated than this

Exactly my issue. I just like climbing particlarly winter because it feels quite simple and pure. But I am really struggling with what seems like deliberately over complicated 'ethics'.

Dave Kerr - on 08 Nov 2013
In reply to NWR:
> (In reply to highclimber)
> [...]
>
> I just like climbing particlarly winter because it feels quite simple and pure.

If you wait until it actually is winter then you'll not go far wrong.
Wesley Orvis - on 08 Nov 2013
In reply to NWR: