UKC

Chamonix/Conville on your own?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 2pints 17 Mar 2005
Anyone ever done Conville on their own?

I've not found anyone to do it with me or come to Chamonix and climb with me but really wanna get ot the Alps and just do it.Its just now Im having a few second thoughts bout going out all on my own!

So how many people go out on their own then?How easy do people reckon it would be to find partners to do nice easy beginner routes if all you've done in the Alps is Conville course?

anonymous 17 Mar 2005
In reply to 2pints:

Im heading out to chamonix for the last week of may (early i know) and the whole of june. Its my first time in the alps also, lead gr 3 winter, vs/hvs summer so am not a fool in the hills. if your around then would be interested in doing a climb, after some decent glacier practice. If your interested get in touch.

Also, can anyone recommend some decent easyish routes that will be in condition in late may/early june, as i have not had chance to look through the guidebooks yet

Cheers
 Dan_S 17 Mar 2005
In reply to 2pints:
I did the conville course about 3 years ago, on my own.
Got a bus from manchester to chamonix (29 hrs of hell)
Course was great, got to know people at the campsite that the course uses, and did a couple of routes with people from the course afterwards too.
It was a great experience, and I cant recommed it enough
johndevlin 18 Mar 2005
In reply to 2pints: Hi I'm just about to post a message to get someone to go to Sham with having had a couple of guys rave about how fantastic it is and not as scary a prospect for the Alpine novice as I'd imagined ( but respect still prevails in the mind )... I want to go ASAP or next week over the easter long weekend. Email me if yo wanna chat more to see if we can be of help to each other ? Regards

John D.
Allan Murdoch 18 Mar 2005
In reply to 2pints: