UKC

MM questions - animals and footwear!

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Fidget 07 Jul 2005
I've got two questions about mountain marathons.

Firstly what footwear do I want? I'm guessing fell running shoes, but would they be suitable for the KIMM? (I'm entering the KIMM and the LDMTA, but doubt I'll get in as I have no experience!) I've currently got either running shoes or hiking boots (don't own any approach shoes) and I don't think either will be appropriate, so if I've got to buy something anyway I might as well make sure it's something suitable!

Secondly - it might seem a strange question, but do you encounter any animals on these things? I'm fine with sheep (unless there's lots of them with big horns), but if I have to run through the middle of a mass of cows I'm quite jittery! I'm guessing that you don't get large amounts of cattle in the the Sottish or Lake District hills though...
 S Andrew 07 Jul 2005
In reply to cider nut:
> I'm guessing that you don't get large amounts of cattle in the the Sottish or Lake District hills though...

They're planning to reintroduce wolves though.
Iain Forrest 07 Jul 2005
In reply to Rid Skwerr:
And there are always at least a couple of lynx on the loose after escaping the wildlife parks.
 CJD 07 Jul 2005
In reply to cider nut:

there were some lovely big black cows on one of the hills that we went up during the Saunders last weekend.

and highland cattle are just so furry!
 S Andrew 07 Jul 2005
In reply to CJD:
>
> and highland cattle are just so furry!

That includes theit tongues.
And their breath smells of whisky.

So I'm told.

CJD 07 Jul 2005
In reply to cider nut:

there have been lots of threads where people mention Inov8 mudroc shoes as good fellrunning shoes. I'd do a search...
 DougG 07 Jul 2005
In reply to Iain Forrest: