UKC

Climbing at olympics 2012

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
king louis 11 Jul 2005
I'm relatively new to climbing but should'nt we all push for climbing or bouldering as one of our 2 new olympic sports as it seems to be something we are very good at in the UK.

Also it would mean there would be decent investment in training and neww facilities.
mac_climb 11 Jul 2005
In reply to king louis: we are not as good as the french and other such nations, so we wouldn't win. And also as people told me it is a bit boring to watch, but then again isn't Kaking and archery
king louis 11 Jul 2005
In reply to mac_climb:

Surely people like Ben Moon and Andy Cave and the other climbers they are bringing through are as good as anyone on their day.
 Norrie Muir 11 Jul 2005
In reply to king louis:
> (In reply to mac_climb)
> Surely people like Ben Moon and Andy Cave and the other climbers they are bringing through are as good as anyone on their day.

Dear King

So was Coe at running, but look at our middle distance runners now.

Norrie
mac_climb 11 Jul 2005
In reply to Norrie Muir: Sure people like me are amazing at climbing, but cant win all the competiotions, who will win the rest or the climbing events at the olympics
OP Anonymous 11 Jul 2005
In reply to king louis:

>I'm relatively new to climbing

You don't say?

>but should'nt we all push for climbing or bouldering as one of our 2 new olympic sports

No.

>as it seems to be something we are very good at in the UK.

In the UK mags, certainly. In real life, we're fairly crap.

>Also it would mean there would be decent investment in training and neww facilities.

Well, we could certainly use some new crags, I suppose.

jcm
psd 11 Jul 2005
In reply to king louis:
> I'm relatively new to climbing but should'nt we all push for climbing or bouldering as one of our 2 new olympic sports

Probably not, seeing as they've already voted to drop softball and baseball and replace them with...

<dramatic pause>