UKC

Manchester Climbing Centre

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
GreyPilgrim 24 Mar 2006
I'm about as much of a newbie as you'll ever get as was after some opinions of Manchester Climbing Centre from anyone who has experienced it. Been browsing their site and there are a couple of 'absolute beginner' courses running, and I'm awaiting info back on times.

Shots of the wall look good, but of course being a newbie, i have nothing to compare it to. A couple of other threads in this forum have been a little critical of one or two of the instructors, and of the routes....again being a newbie, the jargon means nothing to me.

This is an attempt to do something new and challenging (never been too fond of heights), to get into shape, and maybe introduce my daughter too. Any feedback of MCC - good or bad, or maybe any other venue around Manchester would be appreciated.

Cheers

Lee
 Tyler 24 Mar 2006
In reply to GreyPilgrim:

I've started a thread on here recently that some interpreted as being critical of the MCC but that was not the intention. If you read carefully I go on to say it's a great wall with friendly staff that I'd recommend to anyone. I can't comment on the value of their courses as I've never done one but it is an excellent wall and bears comparison with most others in the UK.
GreyPilgrim 24 Mar 2006
In reply to Tyler:

Hi Tyler, yours was the thread I was referring to as a matter of fact, and yeah I'm guilty of not reading all of the way through the thread (which I have done now). Thanks for the feedback...the centre has replied to a couple of questions and I'm going to venture down there at the end of the month.

Still interested in any other general opinions, if anyone has any though

Lee

Chapel John.J 24 Mar 2006
In reply to GreyPilgrim: Great wall, excellent staff, like Tyler cannot comment on their courses but try to avoid busy periods whilst you're getting the hang of things.

PS: Why not add your profile?

John.J