UKC

i'm quitting my job to be climbing instructor!!! help pleas

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 the_one_jim 08 May 2006
i've decided to leave my job in a school teaching kids how to read and look for work as an climbing instructor..

any suggestions where I should look?

i leave in the South East (south london more precisely). I am doing SPA training in the next couple of weeks. i have a couple of years experience with a university club, teaching new members 'on an informal basis'.

i thank you.
Catc22h 08 May 2006
In reply to the_one_jim: Do you really teach English? Who to?
kittykath 08 May 2006
In reply to the_one_jim: I'd suggest getting out and finding groups who you can help with at the weekend while you've still got your teaching job (sorry, not sure where abouts in the southeast). That is unless you're desperate to leave and aren't too fussed about how much you'd be paid to start with. If that's the case, then get in touch with some local centres to see if they'd be willing to give you a trainee placement or go for one of the larger companies who have centres all over the place, pay you very little but sometimes subsidise your qualifications. Good luck!
 Ben C 08 May 2006
In reply to the_one_jim: my advice: DONT DO IT
unless u r independently wealthy u will struggle to earn a living. suggest u leave london or u will be living in a tent.

get ur SPA award before u make a decision.
kittykath 08 May 2006
In reply to Ben C: Good point - well made!
 Ben C 08 May 2006
In reply to kittykath: It is a real shame as well because I do think children/ young adults should have a better "outdoor education". Plus the serious responsibilities one has ie. making sure people dont die. 12k a year for that !
 Ridge 08 May 2006
In reply to Catc22h:
> (In reply to the_one_jim) Do you really teach English? Who to?

Now, now
 Ridge 08 May 2006
In reply to Ben C: