UKC

Quickdraw Question

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 alwyn101 18 Apr 2007
Hi.

I'm new to climbing so I need some advise.

I've been looking at DMM quickdraws. I've seen some in V12 in Llanberis for around £9 which are rated to 8kn. I've also seen some more expensive (£15) DMM ones which are rated to 9kn.

Does the extra 1kn make much difference? And will I see the difference in normal use?
 winter_burn 18 Apr 2007
In reply to alwyn101: no you wont seea any difference if you did create a fall of 8 kn you would be dead . climbing hardwear is rated much stronger than is needed for extra safty
OP alwyn101 18 Apr 2007
In reply to winter_burn:
Cheers, I'll be going with the cheaper gear then!
 pottsworth 18 Apr 2007
In reply to alwyn101:
Have a bit of a grope of the different draws, preferably with a bit of rope if you can.

I personally use wild wires, they're not the cheapest / most expensive / lightest / newest / most anything really, I just really like the way they handle / feel in your hand
 Arjen 18 Apr 2007
In reply to alwyn101:

You're relating to the gate-open strength, which is a situation a crab shouldn't be loaded under, but can be under certain circumstances. With wiregates the chance this happens is a lot smaller though.

Anyway, 8Kn is realistic force on the top runner, especially when the rope is meandering, or you fall directly onto the belay. See this site for more info:
http://www.bealplanet.com/portail-2006/index.php?page=facteur_chute&lan...

I think 15 Kn or something is the max a human being can handle, not 8 - but am not sure.
OP alwyn101 18 Apr 2007
In reply to Arjen:
Thanks. There's a lot of good info there.

Very useful for a beginner like me!!
 steve456 18 Apr 2007