UKC

How do I become a corporate whore?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
brothersoulshine 28 Aug 2007
I am educated to Masters level but only really know academia or the NHS as places to work. I don't have a penny to my name.

How do I enter the corporate world? I've realised, perhaps a bit late, that I want to earn lots of money.
Bob kate bob 28 Aug 2007
In reply to brothersoulshine: What's you degree and Masters in? How long ago did you get your masters?
 DougG 28 Aug 2007
In reply to brothersoulshine:

Was this brought on by the news about City Bonuses?

(In reply to your question, haven't a scooby.)
Hotbad Peteel 28 Aug 2007

When i went for my first job i was asked how i'd change from the academic to the business world. Replied 'I havent a clue, i've never done it before'. Seemed to go down well.
p
Bob kate bob 28 Aug 2007
In reply to brothersoulshine: You do realise that there is a reason why there are decent wages, you will have to vertually sell your soul. Working days can easily be at least 8-6 and there could well be high stress and some weekend working. Ok it depends on what you want to get into but don't expect that it is an easy ride, because it most definately isn't.
In reply to Bob kate bob:

Degree in nursing, masters in bioethics.
 broccoligirl 28 Aug 2007

Excellent thread!

I'm wondering exactly the same thing! I love academia but the pay is rubbish and without a PhD the career path is, well, cr@p.

I am even thinking of pharma jobs but I just don't know if my conscience would let me....
 CJD 28 Aug 2007

why do I get the feeling any 'stress' or long hours in the corporate world would be a doddle for you after your other jobs?

am also sick of being skint so am watching thread with interest

dek 28 Aug 2007