UKC

Ratho Quarry - indoor area

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Taba 07 Sep 2007
i have not actually been to the ratho quarry climbing facility, but there is an area of the actual stone quarry that is under the same roof as other indoor climbing walls there. i thought this sounded like a good idea as when it rains it would mean you could still get on some real rock. however my friends who go there often have told me that no one ever climbs on it because it is simply too polished. having never been there i cant comment on how polished it is but am reliably informed it is rarely used. in these circumstances, and taking into account it is a quarry not a natural outcrop, would it not me ok to chisel some of the polish off and create new handholds for people to enjoy again? i would never suggest this for natural rock, however this seems like a special case.

i know things like this are a touchy subject for climbers, and i am fairly new to climbing, so flame away but try to give a good reason aswell.

Martin W 07 Sep 2007
In reply to Taba: 3/10 must try harder.

FWIW though, I understand that tenders have been invited for an additional artifical climbing surface at Ratho. I was told that this would cover the area of natural rock between the main leading wall and the competition wall, and was primarily required because the competition wall isn't actually up to current international competition standards.
 PeterM 07 Sep 2007
In reply to Taba:

Probably not allowed to climb for Health and Safety and/or insurance reasons. Although if this is the case it does somewhat make a mockery of roofing the quarry. They should either put up more artificial wall to get more utilisation of the place or some other features/training facilities. Why they never just built a new complex somewhere a bit more accessible I don't know.

Cheers,

Peter
 niggle 07 Sep 2007
In reply to Taba: