UKC

Krabs for Anchors

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Sam1991 28 Dec 2007
looking for a cross section of opinion, as i am new to climbing. would you use 2 or 3 snapgates or screwgates to attach to your anchors, and also how many screw gates would you buy for a standard rack, and what are their uses other than for attaching ur belay plate?

any advice, hints, help, suggestions welcomed!

thanks, sam
 Morgan Woods 28 Dec 2007
In reply to Sam1991:

this has been covered quite a bit but i take 2 or 3 screwgates...i usually anchor with the rope clove hitched around snap gates on 2 or 3 pieces....if a piece is a long way away i'll put a screwgate on it, the logic being that it is out of my control so a screwgate is preferred...and may indeed be clove hitched at my waist......same logic with a cordalette.

hope this helps.
 jkarran 28 Dec 2007
In reply to Sam1991:

> looking for a cross section of opinion, as i am new to climbing. would you use 2 or 3 snapgates or screwgates to attach to your anchors

I usually use 1/anchor in a belay unless something can obviously knock the gate open, in that case I'll use a screwgate or back to back snapgates. Or better still, extend or move the gear so the problem no longer exists. Best bet is use 2 or a screwgate, 3 is overkill and could actually be counterproductive.

> and also how many screw gates would you buy for a standard rack, and what are their uses other than for attaching ur belay plate?

I usually have 1 loose, 1 for my belay device and occasionally 1 or 2 on longer slings, depends what I'm doing. I own and will take more if I expect I'll need them.

> any advice, hints, help, suggestions welcomed!

You'll quickly figure out what gear you're comfortable with using and where once you get going. You might end up leaving some behind, you might want to buy a little more. Enjoy figuring it out.
jk

fivestar 28 Dec 2007
In reply to Sam1991: