UKC

MSR Whisperlite not working - advice?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Jim Houghton 28 Aug 2008
My whisperlite has been playing up ever since I bought it on this site. I'm new to the multi-fuel pressure stove game and have not much idea what to do with it - I prime it normally but the main flame never moves beyond a massive yellow sooty thing! Any ideas?
 Morgan Woods 28 Aug 2008
In reply to Jim Houghton:

you sure you're priming it properly? it has to get quite hot before the fuel can vaporize properly.

clearing the jets with the little pricker might help as well.
 Mr Lopez 28 Aug 2008
In reply to Jim Houghton: You have to open just a little bit so you get fuel in the priming cup, then close it a fraction, so you stop excess fuel coming out. Light it, and wait for the 'torch' noise, wait for the flame to go down a bit and open it fully.
If you just get flares is because too much fuel is going out when being primed.
 TN 28 Aug 2008

Def sounds like a priming problem like the others said.
Might be worth giving it a good clean too though. Ours was shocking when we bought it - we thought we'd brought a right piece of kit. Went through the cleaning instructions and it was fantastic afterwards. Worth a try perhaps.
 gilldando 28 Aug 2008
In reply to Jim Houghton: Sounds like it just needs a good clean.Get one of the service kits,follow the instructions and it should be good as new!They really are bombproof stoves but you must keep it clean especially if you are using unleaded petrol.
 petellis 28 Aug 2008
In reply to Jim Houghton: try running on a really clean fuel - mine runs really dirty on petrol and gets coated in soot. run it on something cleaner and it strips it off.
 webding 28 Aug 2008
Quoting (or paraphrasing) from the Whisperlite manual:

‘The Whisperlite has 2 interchangeable jets:
- a G jet for white gas and unleaded which is preinstalled when the stove is bought new.