UKC

Best route to a career as an Instructor? Uni, Apprenticeship?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Hi fellow outdoors people!

Currently I am studying for a National Diploma in Outdoor Education; this has been great as i have had my eyes 'opened' to lots of different opportunities, and gained a wealth of knowledge about what NGB qualifications are out there etc etc.

My course will come to an end in April 2009, and i am not too sure what to do from here, i am positive that i want to become a guide in the mountains and move my way up the ranks to the elusive "Guide" qualification, but (in your opinion) what road should i take?

So far i have considered the following:

1) Get an apprenticeship in Scotland; allowing me to a. Live in the mountains and b. gain NGB's, contacts, and experience.

2) Head to University (in Scotland), and gain a Degree in Outdoor Leadership; i thought that if I had a degree in 'leading' it could come in handy if i wanted to move to Canada, or if i got injured (broken back etc) and needed to get a less active job, i could go into retail management at an outdoors store.

3) Get a full time 'normal' job for a few years, build up NGB's, buy masses of equipment and then go into a job with my ML (winter) or MIA.

I don't want to leave my thinking and get to the end of my course and get stuck in a rut and not know where to go etc.

I really appreciate your comments guys, I'm quite confused in what to do and just want to hear some peoples opinions, maybe there is a route No.4?
Anonymous 21 Sep 2008
In reply to keithlackie:

Me personally and I've thought becoming a full time instructor also.

I've opted for gaining the NGB's and experience in my own time and did a a degree that was completely separate from the outdoor education/outdoor leadership sector. At the moment I'm working full time as a Surveyor and will gain the necessary NGB qualifications as and when time,cash and experience permit.