UKC

NEW REVIEW: Rab Neutrino

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 UKC Gear 20 Mar 2009
I have been using the Neutrino for the last 3 months and so far it has had several outings on Welsh and Scottish mountains as well as being used regularly as a cragging belay jacket in the Peak District. It's also proved very useful for belay duty on winter visits to chilly local climbing walls and it recently spent time in a French ski resort and went to Cogne for a few days. So how did it perform? Mountaineering Instructor, Paul Lewis gives us his verdict...

Read more at http://www.ukclimbing.com/gear/review.php?id=1588
 Banned User 77 20 Mar 2009
In reply to UKC Gear: My Rab jacket is already unstitching after only 3 months, my old mans vapour rise trousers have too. Doesn't seem as well made anymore. I've now had faults with the last 3 jackets.
 Jonny2vests 23 Mar 2009
In reply to UKC Gear: I've had 2 neutrinos in the past 2 years. Brilliant jacket, but not too hard wearing. The endurance shell rips easily, so more of a belay jacket than anything you might consider climbing in.
 Scotti 23 Mar 2009
In reply to UKC Gear: I got a secondhand one off here in very bright orange. Absolutley love it. Kept me warm in -15 temps in switzerland, and freezing temps in Wyoming last month.
 Morgan Woods 23 Mar 2009
In reply to UKC Gear:

never really got on with the RAB fit but tried on a mate's one and it seemed ok...defo warm enough for winter cragging.

fleece lined pockets a la mountain hardwear would be a nice addition.
 AsleepOnBelay 24 Mar 2009
In reply to UKC Gear:

It might be useful to know there are 3 versions of the Neutrino (which I found out after a bit of research recently):

Endurance: 220g of 750 fill power down, total weight 625g
Edge: 250g of 750 fill power down, total weight 695g
Andes: 330g of 750 fill power down, total weight 990g