UKC

Rab Vapour-rise trail smock vs Buffalo Teclite shirt

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 cragferrit 12 Oct 2009
which would you purchase Rab VR smock or buffalo teclite shirt - putting cost aside

http://www.buffalosystems.co.uk/ls1.htm

http://www.rab.uk.com/clothing/vapour-rise/vapour-rise_trail_smock---93/

ive looked at the specs of both of them and they look pretty similar to me.. but im no expert..

i want to use it as a stand alone top in summer with perhaps just a helly under it.. or on its own weather permitting.. and as part of a layering system in winter..

ive read around on the forum and found lots of info on the rab.. but non on the buffalo

which is the better buy?
drmarten 12 Oct 2009
In reply to cragferrit:
I've got the Rab VR and it's let down by the Kangaroo pocket which can't be closed and the arms are very tight/narrow. I like the chest pocket on the Buffalo and was on the lookout for one but saw the VR in a shop first.
I use the VR as main layer in summer and for warmth/breathability etc it's great for me - no complaints there - but those arms, that pocket ...

In reply to cragferrit:

> which is the better buy?

Whichever fits you better, and has features you prefer, I'd say. Only you can decide that; fixed hood vs fold-away hood, venting options, etc. Rab's wired hood, etc.

The PX4 on the Buffalo is slightly more wind resistant than the Equilibrium on the VR. Not quite sure how the VR comes out lighter than the Buffalo, given that EQ is heavier than PX4, and I think the micropile fabrics are pretty similar.

Guy Hurst 13 Oct 2009
In reply to cragferrit: I like the Buffalo Fell jacket a lot. Full length zip and a better hood than the Teclite shirt. It's just about all you need when moving during the colder months, and a belay jacket slips on easily over the Pertex when you stop.