UKC

Racking krabs and climbing through the winter

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 eeonz 26 Oct 2009
Hey, im starting to build up my rack in a slightly haphazard way. I've bought some nuts and cams, just about to get some hexes, but don't know what to rack them on. I was going to use prowires as they're pretty cheap, would that work ok? Also does every hex/cam need its own krab - would this be useful? I'm trying to get into trad climbing in general, doing single pitch at the minute, but looking to do multipitch in future.

Another kit related question - im using a DMM bug thats got a fair amount of scratches on it from where ive carried it on my hip when climbing - will this damage the rope?

Lastly, i'm pretty new to climbing. Does it go on throughout the winter (besides "winter" climbing) - is it still possible to climb single pitch etc in cold/wet conditions? I'm just thinking that it must be hard to climb well with cold hands on wet rock.

Many thanks
Ian
 wilkie14c 27 Oct 2009
In reply to eeonz:
Ian
It is usual to rack cams and hexes together on one crab - that is - 3 big boy hexes on one crab and the 4 smaller ones on another, assuming you'll have a set of 7 WC hexes. Cams are similar, 3 smallest on one crab, couple of mediums on another and a couple of the big ones on another. This way you can disribute the weight around your harness and when placing a piece, you can grab the crab that has the most size options for the give crack etc.
I choose to use WC Oxygen crabs for racking as they have a 'clean nose' so the gear doesn't snag when you unclip from the crabs.
Some cams (DMM) have a double sling fixed to them so they carry short but onece place, the sling can be pulled through and extended. This means you can carry each cam with its own crab and dispense with a quickdraw if you want. For climbing Grit this would be very useful as you tend to know what cams you'll be needing before leaving the ground.