UKC

Getting Fitter

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 John Lewis 19 Nov 2009
Ok, so I'm over the hill bit heavy 14.5 stone 5'8", strong but not fit.

Every opportunity I get I climb, but that really only improves strength.

What can I do to improve fitness? enjoying it will make it much more likley.
How long is it likley to take? are there any quick wins to get me going?

As a point of measure I can run about 100 yards before I need to stop but then again I hate running, can cycle on road 20+miles comfortably and dont mind cycling so much.

I did go to the gym for a few months a few years ago and enjoyed Rowing and cycling, but not running or cross trainer and before that swimming 3 mornings a week 30 lengths plus in 30 mins roughly.

I have been smoking again for about 18 months but now go days and weeks without.

Any advice welcome

brieflyback 19 Nov 2009
In reply to John Lewis:

I was in exactly your position just under a year ago, except I'm an inch shorter!

Fast walking interspersed with running - ie run until you can't, but keep on walking, climbing whever possible, eating better, will get you started.

I cut out snacks, had soup for lunch, no booze for a bit, that kind of thing.

I'm lucky in that I had a hill opposite the house I could charge up and down two or three nights a week. Can't imagine there are many of them in Dartford (Perhaps you could run across the QEII bridge a couple of times!)

I'm now just under 12 stone and approaching my fighting weight.

Don't envy you doing it in the run-up to Christmas, though.
OP John Lewis 19 Nov 2009
In reply to Martin76: 2 stone in a year wow, but I hate running!

Have been eating better and did lose a bit but the climbing added some muscle

Run Walk, how far or for how long and how to build it up?

I doubt I could run the length of the bridge even if allowed. Even walking up hill has been shown to be difficult recently.

In reply to John Lewis: try swimming and cycling.