UKC

corporate jaunts - 12 go wild on Mont Blanc

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Milla 22 Aug 2001
OK, here's a question. What do people think about companies using mountaineering and climbing as "corporate bonding" tools?

I'm a journalist and just got sent a press release from a company crowing about a recent trip up Mont Blanc, which was an exercise designed to prove it was "a dynamic, ambitious and team-orientated organisation".

"It was essential that every team member made it to the top, since each one had brought a different part of a special banner to wave at the top," said the release.

I guess the reason this made me feel uncomfortable was the assumption that everyone would be able to make the summit, therefore suggesting a sense of blow-it-all heroicism, and the fact that I hadn't realised how popular these types of trips are.

Am I being pathetic, or does it annoy others that multinational companies want to get their brands on the top of mountains just for the sake of it?

Shall I get my coat now?
Anita 22 Aug 2001
In reply to Milla: Afew years ago I was on the Ben and there was a team building exercise group of Unilever managers doing the three peaks! (groans all round) They had a group on the Ben and another on Snowdon and the two were meeting in the lakes. Funnily enough they got lost on the tourist down to the Youth Hostel!!! Oh I laughed!
OP AndrewB 22 Aug 2001
In reply to Milla:
Haven't they even seen Vertical Limit yet. We all know where that got them.
 Lummox 22 Aug 2001
In reply to Milla: Corporate Team Building translation : load of old bollocks.Not sure much else needs to be added.
Sloper 22 Aug 2001
In reply to Milla: Brillaint Idea.

If only I could persuade my director to organise a trip to Yosemite to facilitate the integration of corporate functions while conforming to cohesive and yet dynanic interpersonal objectives.