UKC

Pieps Freeride Transceiver

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Oceanic 28 Jan 2010
The Pieps Freeride seems pretty appealing to me as it is cheap, lightweight and designed for the sort of skiing I do (lift served).

However there is a possibility that in the future I will buy touring gear, and do some skiing that isn’t lift served, If I do this, will I regret not buying a multi antennae beacon?

At present I have limited beacon experience (1 practice search with an Ortovox X1). Based on that experience I think that I could quickly get the hang of slowly sweeping a single antennae beacon in front of me to pick up and follow a flux line.

So my question’s are..

1. If you turned up to go skiing with me, and I told you that I had a Pieps freeride, but not to worry because I had practised using it, how would you feel?

2. How easy is it to use a Freeride once you have spent some time getting used to it?

(I’m particularly interested in answers from people who have practiced searching with a Freeride).

Thanks.
 Dr Rorlasaurus 28 Jan 2010
In reply to Oceanic:

Yeh I want to know more about this too, just spent a large amount on a new 3 antennae ortovox s1 (cos it was the EXACT amount left on my credit card and should have been a great deal more expensive so fate led me to believe it was to be!) but it needs a friend to play with and sit in my rucksack on that day when i am some professional in the mountains instead of someone with a lot of toys
OP Oceanic 28 Jan 2010
In reply to ligemidio:

Presumably you could take your shiny new transceiver to an ARVA practice area to play with it? Or do you mean that you want a second beacon to lend to a friend when going out into the hills?
In reply to Oceanic:

Nearest ARVA practice area to Norfolk is??