UKC

Awesome Walls - Stoke

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
jemmima 11 Mar 2010
How fantastic to have this in Stoke On Trent. Even more fantastic it's only five minutes drive from my house!

I'm a total beginner and went along last night for the 20 minute induction.
Was very self conscious and quite nervous; not only a newbie but a 45 year old female! but Dom, the instructor, put me at my ease and I'm now looking forward to honing my skills there with regular sessions...really great place, great staff, come and see!
 abr1966 11 Mar 2010
In reply to jemmima: Does anyone know if this induction thing is a 'must do'? I've been thinking about going to have a look at this place in Stoke but don't much fancy some kind of corporate induction?
ypy 11 Mar 2010
In reply to jemmima:

I have a feeling inductions may be compulsory (safety, liability, insurance etc...)

However, the Awesome Walls guys are generally a good bunch and the induction is unlikely to be 'corporate'.

I would highly recommend doing a simple induction if you haven't used a bouldering facility before.
 Si dH 11 Mar 2010
In reply to ypy:
No, you dont need an induction if you're an experienced climber (at least, no-one said anything to me about one - I took along a completed form from the internet and was climbing straight away).

Some walls always mandate one, some not as long as you sign the forms...dont know why.
In reply to ypy:

non of the otehr awesome walls have compulsory inductions as long as you know what you are doing.. think I had to name 3 differnt branded belay devices (grigri, atc, reverso)
ypy 11 Mar 2010
In reply to idiotproof (Buxton MC):

Apologies I was under the assumption that we were talking about non experienced climbers who would normally require instruction.
 abr1966 11 Mar 2010
In reply to jemmima: cheers everyone....got 30 years of experience but have only been to an indoor wall once before!
 Dave Garnett 11 Mar 2010
In reply to abr1966: