UKC

Easiest mountain marathon event?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
I'm thinking about doing my first mountain marathon event, perhaps next year. Which is the easiest category of the easiest event in the UK? Saunders, OMM, Highlander, etc?

At the moment I can happily run 15 miles on trails carrying a very light pack, but I haven't done much running away from footpaths, haven't run big hills in the Lakes/Snowdonia/Scotland, not used to carrying a heavier pack with tent & sleeping bag, I'm a novice at navigation, and I haven't done 2 days of hard running in a row...

My preference would be to start off with something that is within my comfort zone, and hopefully really enjoy it, then build up to harder events in the future.

Many thanks
 bobert 17 Apr 2010
In reply to Nick Smith - UKC: The Saunders is probably the most user friendly of the 3 you mentioned due to time of year. The milk and beer at halfway camp is always a winner too. There is also the pheonix O event though i have never done this but supposed to be a good one to cut your teeth on. If you are managing 15 mile trail runs ok just get stuck in to one of the longer classes. Most of the time you'll be walking the ups and jogging the flats and downs. Plus don't train too much with a heavy pack, unless the knees are no issue. longer days out walking/jogging on the fells will see you right.
 Steve Perry 17 Apr 2010
In reply to Nick Smith - UKC: There'll be one here suits you Nick;

http://www.sportident.co.uk/future_events.php

johnSD 17 Apr 2010
In reply to Nick Smith - UKC:

Don't set your sights too low, unless you aim to be really competitive and go for a podium place (if that doesn't sound like a contradiction...).