UKC

Why do you clip a Quick-draw into a nut and not a carabiner?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 euanryan 08 Jun 2010
Bit of a noob question here

Is there any reason why one clips a quick-draw into a nut and not just a single carabiner? Much lighter than carrying a full quick-draw?

Most cams and hexes just have a single carabiner that you clip into, so why is a nut any different?
 Mr-Cowdrey 08 Jun 2010
In reply to euanryan: nuts are prone to popping out of the placement due to rope drag. quickdraws extend the contact between the nut and the rope alowing for more freedom and reducing rope drag.
 Mr-Cowdrey 08 Jun 2010
In reply to Mr-Cowdrey: damn it, i should really check profiles before replying...

all im gunna say is, troll.
 Jamie B 08 Jun 2010
In reply to euanryan:

To reduce rope-drag and ensure that gear doesnt lift out of placements.
OP euanryan 08 Jun 2010
In reply to Mr-Cowdrey: wowa? I'm fairly new to trad mate and i'm asking a genuine question!

Your reply was pretty helpful acctually, don't jump to conclusions!
 Mr-Cowdrey 08 Jun 2010
In reply to euanryan: ahh ok, i just saw that you had been climbing for 4-10 years and just jumped to conclusions like you said, im sorry.

but good on you mate, i LOVE trad climbing keep it up.
OP euanryan 08 Jun 2010
In reply to euanryan:

No worries, most of that time was spent cooped up in the Glasgow Climbing Centre!

Getting onto the real stuff now!
 sutty 08 Jun 2010
In reply to euanryan:

If you look at some of the old time pictures you will see we often used just a nut with krab on it, using slings to extend them when there was a danger of them pulling out. Now people use QDs on nearly everything. I use the old method with short slings to extend when needed.