UKC

Climbing near Manchester (ish)

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 FreshSlate 13 Jun 2010
Hey, I'm new to outdoor climbing (and don't own a guide book quite yet) was wondering if anyone could recommend me a good crag not too far from manchester with plenty of well protected routes . I liked hobson Moor.
In reply to FreshSlate: Wilton Quarries (lancashire rock Guidebook)
OP FreshSlate 13 Jun 2010
Looks good. Anything I should know? What's the height like generally? Are there any good taller routes (that aren't really hard or void of gear). Also I noticed some bushy top outs in some of the pics in the logbook, is this a problem?
In reply to FreshSlate: no higher thn hobby moor. there are belay stakes in place where natural protection is not an option.
if you are looking for longer routes then you might have to go a little further afield than the fringes of manchester.

Ahh ok will definitely give that place ago. Just out of curiousity how far would you go for something a little taller?
 Reidy 13 Jun 2010
In reply to FreshSlate: Which side of manchester are you on?
Like ashton/droylsden. So east side I guess
 Reidy 13 Jun 2010
In reply to FreshSlate: Not sure what is closest to that, trowbarrow is worth a visit for longer routes, but not the closest to you
 stewieatb 13 Jun 2010
In reply to FreshSlate:
> Just out of curiousity how far would you go for something a little taller?

North Lancs quarries, some of the bigger white peak limestone crags, maybe North Wales.
 MikeR 14 Jun 2010
In reply to FreshSlate: