UKC

Indoor Ice Climbing

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
monkeynutz 19 Sep 2010
Hi All,

I'm a climbing novice and new to this forum.

I've been climbing since this summer and I absolutely love it. I started out with indoor climbing then last week we went to Snowdownia for my first taster of outdoor climbing.

It's almost winter and i'm looking to try out Ice Climbing but I don't know where to begin.

Been looking on the net and found a blog about Indoor Ice Climbing in UK ( http://thegiftarena.co.uk/ice-climbing-gift-experience.html ) and it mentions a few areas where you can do this.

I'm torn wheter to try Indoor Ice Climbing or give it a go outdoors.

Should I try indoors? Should I go outdoors? and Where can I go in the UK that has a good outdoor beginner wall/route?
 RichJ634 19 Sep 2010
In reply to monkeynutz: Outdoor courses tend to be much more expensive and require you to own more kit, but they are generally excellent. Indoor courses are much cheaper and will give you a good idea of whether you might enjoy it, however it will only offer limited insight in to winter climbing outside. Indoor, I recommend Ice Factor in Kinlochleven.
ice.solo 19 Sep 2010
In reply to monkeynutz:

do both.

indoors to get a feel for what the basics are, outdoors for (preferably on actually cascade ice) for the uniqueness of the experience - ice is amazingly unlike rock (well maybe not so amazingly actually when you think about it).

cant help with where to go, but definitly try somewhere where you hire the gear - ice is expensive.

you will love it, only mad people dont.
it will have its uncomfortable and dangerous sides, but half the fun is sorting thru all that.
the entire engima of ice is awesome and the folks into it are cult-like in the best possible way.
 Arcticboy 19 Sep 2010
In reply to monkeynutz:

I had a go in the Ellis Brigham shop in Covent Garden, they have an 8m wall in a freezer at the back of the store, it was great fun!!