UKC

12 Week trip to Yosemite/Indian creek/?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
I'm looking to fly out to the US sometime after July (but I have no plans and I'm free all year after that so can leave later) for a 6-12 week trip and was wondering on people's opinions on when would be best to go/what time span?

My two main objectives are climbing in the valley with the hope of getting something big done and going to Indian Creek to get some classic crack action but I'm also open to suggestions.

Plan is to fly to SF and try and hitch/get public transport from there to the valley to start the trip then head to indo after it gets cooler.

Is it better to plan solidly and book places or is it ok to try and freestyle it for the best part (I'm not very good at planning ahead)?

I'm aware that the maximum length of the trip on a holiday visa is 90 days - are there any other visa issues or any other technicalities I should be aware of?

Thanks,
Andrew
 Aigen 19 Feb 2011
In reply to andrew sandercock: Did an epic trip round the states few years back. Over stayed my visa but dont care, yes its 90 days. Started in Squamish in augest 4 weeks. Got a lift to Yosemite (easy lots of people going down). Then Valley for 4 weeks also climbed up in Toulome. Then got lift to red river gorge for 4 weeks climbing at red river gorge, Then Indian creek for 4 weeks and down to Pitraro Chico stopping in Heuco tanks for few days. Great trip free lifts (well chipped in for gas) accomadation was either 0 or 5 bucks max per night. Would not go to Pitaro Chico again its choss.
 highcamp 19 Feb 2011
In reply to andrew sandercock:

I'd do Sept in the Valley and then jog out to IC for October. Best months for both. If you want to spend extra time over here, come a bit earlier and spend the first weeks in Tuolumne (as mentioned above) and then migrate down to the Valley in Sept (or earlier if the temps are nice). Enjoy.
 seankenny 19 Feb 2011