UKC

quickdraw lengths

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
northern_hamish 07 Apr 2011
Right guys, Im new here so go easy on me.
Ive been climbing for about 3 months at my local gym 2/3 times a week. I love the sport and so have organised a sports climbing trip to siurana in spain with a more experienced climbing friend.
I just bought these quickdraws as they were on at massive discount prices(ex-display i think).
Here they are http://www.wildcountry.co.uk/products/quickdraws/wild-wire-quickdraws/
I managed to get 4x10cm, 1x15cm, 4x20cm thats 9, all for £64 which i thought was very good.
Any way i was just wondering what your thoughts were on that setup and whether i would need and others for a simple sport climbing route, p.s i also puchased a 120cm sling in case i need to extend any.
Thanks people
In reply to joshfinz: There is nothing wrong with what you have bought although I tend to favour short QD's (10/11cm for sport)with a couple of longer ones (18 cm)thrown in for the odd situation where a bolt is off to one side. 12 QD's in total is enough for most routes although 15 can be handy in many cases especially abroad. You might consider attaching 2 krabs to the 120 cm sling and passing one krab through the other to shorten it. This gives you the option of either a full length sling or another QD.

Al
 Tris 07 Apr 2011
In reply to joshfinz: You're going to need more than 9 for a trip to Suirana..
In reply to Tris: Presumably the more experienced partner will contribute some???

Al
 Tris 07 Apr 2011
In reply to Tris: Just to add - there will be stuff that you can climb with only 9, but you will miss out on many of the longer 25m+ classics unless you are happy running it out...
 Tris 07 Apr 2011
In reply to Gaston Rubberpants:
> (In reply to Tris) Presumably the more experienced partner will contribute some???
>
> Al

That would work too

northern_hamish 08 Apr 2011