UKC

Alpkit Clippers - organising your rack?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Chris.Irwin 16 Nov 2011
Hey, I'm relatively new to the world of trad climbing, having spent most of my time climbing indoors. However, I'm just starting to get into it and I'm looking to invest in a few things rather than borrowing all the gear.

I have a question about the 'Alpkit Clippers' which are snapgate carabiners I was thinking of using to keep nuts, hexes etc. organised and attached to my harness. Now it says that they are not load bearing and thus not suitable for climbing. However, as I'm not going to be falling on them, are they OK for this job? Or should I spend more and get something more substantial.

http://www.alpkit.com/shop/cart.php?target=product&product_id=16304&...
 cfer 16 Nov 2011
In reply to Chris Irwin: To be honest I would pay the extra and get some that are suitable for all sorts of things, that way if you need one, you have one!!! but they should be ok for racking gear.
 Reach>Talent 16 Nov 2011
In reply to Chris Irwin:
Using a proper 'fully rated' carabiner will mean you've got a fully rated carabiner for when you need it, it also removes the possibility of accidentally using an under strength one. You can pick up cheap full strength carabiners like DMM pro-wire very cheaply.
mountainsheep 16 Nov 2011
In reply to Chris Irwin: why though? If you use full strength ones then they can be used for setting up belays if you run out of screw gates or clip the rope straight into gear if you run out of runners etc.
OP Chris.Irwin 16 Nov 2011
Good Point, I guess it would be useful to have a set of load bearing ones just in case... *sigh* this trad business is not cheap!
 Monk 16 Nov 2011
In reply to Chris Irwin:

Apart from what everyone else has said (which I agree with), the clippers are tiny so not really appropriate for racking gear purely from a practical point of view.
In reply to Chris Irwin: have you seen the alpkit ones?