UKC

performance sportswear student in need of help

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
carlwilliams 04 Dec 2011
Hi everyone im in need of some help at present i am studying in falmouth in cornwall and im doing a project on mountain rescue in which i have to to come up with a design and make a outfit ie jacket ,i understand what is on the market but what i would like to ask everyone on this forum is what do you need within a MRT jacket ,whats missing ,what would be better ,what would work and benefit you when out in the extreme weather cuffs hoods and so on .

please get back to me with any information you feel may help

many thanks carl williams

email trainspotters1@hotmail.com
 Paul at work 04 Dec 2011
In reply to carlwilliams:

Would it not be better to contact MR teams direct?
Dan Walker 04 Dec 2011
*pocket big enough to take a radio
*drain hole to let water out of pockets
*wired hood to fit comfortably over helmet
*long enough to stay tucked into harness when reaching above head
*no lining/mesh
*fairly tough material
*reflective tape (looks a bit stupid but works well...)
*zips & cuffs that can be adjusted with gloves on

These'd be my personal preferences anyway...
Hope that helps a bit.
Dan
 jadias 04 Dec 2011
In reply to Dan Walker:

More or less the ME Kongur MRT then!
 MarshF 11 Dec 2011

Look at some of the things made by the north face in the mid 90's ie Search & Rescue Mountain Patrol series, RTG series and of course, THE ultimate piece of gear, the heli vest. Tons of pockets, ability to strap ski to your back and an internal hydration system. If these garments were not all hundreds of pounds, made of 15 year old goretex and exceedingly rare they would be the first choice for 'professional' mountain users.
 GarethSL 11 Dec 2011

My list of design features, pattern etc would include:

- Adjustable waist and hem.