UKC

Redesigning the ice axe

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
AJP_1990 28 Dec 2011
Hiya,

I'm a design student and as part of one of my projects i'm redesigning the ice axe. I am wondering what people find annoying or problematic with their ice axes etc.... Any ideas or comments for improvements and problems would be great!!!! Thanks!!!!!
OP Anonymous 28 Dec 2011
In reply to AJP_1990:

-weight
-unweildiness
-ease of changing picks without tools
-a genuinely comfortable and effective hand rest that gives as good support as a Quark or Viper, whilst folding (like the Aztarex) or sliding (like the Sumtec or Jorasses 2) away with no tools to leave a bare metal shaft with no rubber grip etc to interfere with plunging and stomper belay technique
-find some magic way of using an adze as a hammer instead of needing a second tool for alpine stuff where I only need one.
-find an answer to getting good hand clearance with a bent shaft vs straight shafts for plunging
 Harry Holmes 28 Dec 2011
In reply to AJP_1990: see grivel force carbon
 Harry Holmes 28 Dec 2011
In reply to naffan: although a self sharpening pick would be good. like metals of different strength next to each other
 NottsRich 28 Dec 2011
In reply to naffan: Use the self-sharpening effect of BMGs?

Also, a way of keeping your hands warm. Use the energy from the swing to generate heat in the grip somehow?

Some sort of integrated belay device?
Removed User 28 Dec 2011
In reply to AJP_1990:

How about some holes in the shaft so it could be played like a tin whistle to while away those long lonely belays...
myth 28 Dec 2011
In reply to AJP_1990: The PRICE!!!!
 timjones 29 Dec 2011
In reply to NottsRich:

> Some sort of integrated belay device?