UKC

Sore feet

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
As an old overweight newbie, I'm wondering if any other new climbers experience, toe and foot pain. Towards the end of a session (indoors) after about 8 routes and a bit of traversing/bouldering I find the outside edge of my soles and my big toes are sore. Are there any solutions to this please? do I need to try different shoes or just toughen up and stop being soft? Are there any off wall exercises?
Any ideas would be appreciated or at least someone saying they have experienced similar would be reassuring.

Many thanks
 jkarran 09 Jan 2012
In reply to Banana Cockroach:

Sore feet is pretty normal. They do toughen up with experience but they're never quite tough enough or at least mine aren't!

Pop them out of your shoes or at least release your heels between routes so you can stretch and flex the arches/toes.
jk
Andy Ayres 19 Jan 2012
In reply to Banana Cockroach:

Tight fitting shoes whether high heeled or climbing shoes will cause feet problems.

Best advice would be to:
1. minimse the amount of time you wear the shoes.
2. experiment with different shoes and makes
3. the next size bigger might be more comfortable, depends how tight you want them.
4. try taking them to a cobblers and getting them stretched. I tried this once, wasnt a great success but helped a little.
 EeeByGum 20 Jan 2012
In reply to Banana Cockroach: There is a myth amongst climbers that you need to purchase shoes at least 1 - 2 sizes smaller than your feet. I fell for this when I started climbing and put up with the agony. It all came to a head when I went to Yosemite and my toes bled so much that the blood seeped through the leather of my shoe.