UKC

Rope Repair

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 JLS 11 Jan 2012
At the weekend there was an unfortunate incident when my climbing partner stood on my rope pressing it, with great force, on to a piece of broken glass. This caused a partial severing of the rope which makes it look a bit unsafe. I know I can't just super glue it and don't wish to compromise on safety so I'm thinking I should have it professionally repaired.

Can anyone recommend somewhere that will repair my rope? It's only 15 years old but my climbing partner has just been made redundant and so I'm reluctant ask for the full price of a new rope. I think if he pays for the repair then I'll be happy.
 Sir Chasm 11 Jan 2012
In reply to JLS: Duct tape.
cb294 11 Jan 2012
In reply to JLS:

Melt the sides of the incision over a candle, stick them together quickly.
 EeeByGum 11 Jan 2012
In reply to JLS: Yawn.
 funsized 11 Jan 2012
In reply to JLS:

good try....but remember that complete novices use this site, and could easily take this as true.
 Tophe 11 Jan 2012
In reply to funsized:

That's a good thing! It's like natural selection, kill off the stupid/dangerous people right away.
 jon 11 Jan 2012
In reply to JLS:

Shouldn't be a problem. I always mark the middle with a sharp knife.
 Robert Durran 11 Jan 2012
In reply to JLS:

If the core is severed or partially severed, just tie a knot in it. Repair the sheath with duct tape. As good as new! All this stuff about discarding damaged ropes is complete nonsense propagated by manufacturers to try to boost their profits.
 nniff 11 Jan 2012
In reply to JLS:

If you tie an overhand knot around the damaged part (or an alpine butterfly if you'll be climbing overseas), then this will clean gear from the pitch as you climb, enabling the second to climb much faster without having to stop to extract it.
 Andy Hardy 11 Jan 2012
In reply to JLS:

If you know any Scouts they could probably splice it f.o.c.