UKC

Eating / stamina tips for a long commute

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 EeeByGum 26 Mar 2012
I cycle 20 miles a day to and from work. Well I say that. Monday and Tuesday are fine. Wednesday I get the train home as I go climbing and by Friday I get the train to and from work as I am totally spent. I also regularly crash on the way home and need to stop for sweets and coke. I am ravenously hungry all the time.

How can I stop myself crashing? I have tried eating (snack bars) before I go home but this doesn't seem to work. Am I just being a wuss in being so shattered by Friday? Is there anything I can do about it?
 Andy Hardy 26 Mar 2012
In reply to EeeByGum:

Is that 20 miles each way or 10?

I'm no expert, but since you're commuting not racing, I'd suggest riding a bit slower?
OP EeeByGum 26 Mar 2012
In reply to 999thAndy: 10 miles each way. I tried to cycle a bit slower this morning, but a-holes in cars and bikes plus a beautiful morning got me going again!
 tlm 26 Mar 2012
In reply to EeeByGum:

I would think sugary snacks really wouldn't help with trying to stabalise your blood sugar?

Maybe you should just eat more normal food at mealtimes?
 AlisonSmiles 26 Mar 2012
In reply to EeeByGum: My cycle commute is 8 miles, and at my peak of fitness (which isn't high) I can manage three days a week. My tip for the top is to eat something around 4pm if you're leaving at 5pm - banana or chewy bar, cereal, whatever your favorite is. How long before you leave have you been eating? What do you eat at lunch? Do you have breakfast before the morning ride or after?
MarkM 26 Mar 2012
In reply to EeeByGum:
ideas
1) Eat a decent lunch

2) supplement with a decent energy bar (can buy bulk from wiggle or other online) or flapjack at least 30 min before evening ride home

3) Let yourself have the occaional relaxed ride to/from work

cheers
Mark
 steev 26 Mar 2012
In reply to EeeByGum: