UKC

Toilet

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 irdial 27 Apr 2012
Howdo all

I'm new to this outdoors malarky. This a bit embarassing to ask but does anyone have any suggestions for doing a number 2 outdoors? - it's quite traumatizing isn't it.
 Dauphin 27 Apr 2012
In reply to irdial:

For you or the sheep?

Don't be a sitter, be a stand up shitter.

D
 Sharp 27 Apr 2012
In reply to irdial: If you're leaving it behind, dig down about 9" (too shallow and it'll pop up, too deep and it may not degrade properly), deliver your package into said hole and clean up, burn the toilet roll and cover. (don't forget to stick the flag into the mound once you've covered up)

A little squirt of petrol (or similar) into the hole gets the paper going nicely, also if you've got an mp3 player, just as you light the paper stick that piece of music on that's at the end of Return of the Jedi, the one where Luke burns his father. Sets the scene nicely I think.

Alternatively do it in a bag and pack it out.

Ben
 KiwiPrincess 27 Apr 2012
In reply to Sharp:
Cornstarch bags are biodegradable and you can flush them!
Put them in a Plastic jar Type container for hygenic tranport.
 Al Evans 27 Apr 2012
In reply to irdial: If you're really worried there is a book on it 'How To Shit In The Woods', which I have never read but I saw it once in Hitch and Hike in Bamford, flicked through it and wished after I left the shop that I'd bought it.
http://www.amazon.com/Shit-Woods-Second-Edition-Environmentally/dp/08981562...
 Al Evans 27 Apr 2012
In reply to Al Evans: Also a youtube on it here, theres lots more on the web.
youtube.com/watch?v=sOVch7nuowE&
 flaneur 27 Apr 2012
In reply to irdial:

All your al fresco waste disposal questions answered by Jack Geldard: http://www.ukclimbing.com/articles/page.php?id=1363
Rigid Raider 27 Apr 2012
Here it is from a lifetime outdoors pooing enthusiast: