/ advice for someone new to real rock

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
philbert_mcpleb - on 01 May 2012
I've been climbing for a few months and can't wait to try some real rock. Currently I do bouldering and top-roping. I have been reading up on sport climbing and hope to be taking a course at my regular climbing wall soon.

My question is. If I can't take the course (dates not looking good) will I be able to top-rope at somewhere like Portland without getting in the way and upsetting other people there? I don't plan on simply staying in the same spot all day, but don't want to get moaned at simple because I'm using a top-rope.
Jon Stewart - on 01 May 2012
In reply to philbert_mcpleb:

I'm not sure about good places for top-roping in Portland, but have a think about this:

learning to lead on sport routes requires virtually no knowledge or skill, and is loads more fun and exciting than top-roping. You just need someone to show you some very basic ropework (how to get down) - it'll take about 5 minutes to learn. You honestly don't need a course for this (you might need a course for learning trad, but that's very different).

You will of course need some quickdraws, but it's worth the money.
Kemics - on 01 May 2012

Rather than trying to work it out yourself, which will probably get in the way and be a little dangerous. (maybe not the climbing but if you're scrambling around trying to ab in to set up a tope rope etc)

Much better to hook up with a climbing club or just some more experienced climbers. It'll give you a great insight into climbing plus you'll learn much much more about both climbing itself and ropework/safety

tlm - on 01 May 2012

Agree with the idea of joining a club.