UKC

Trekking poles

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Totally-Normal 11 May 2012
I'm looking to buy a set of poles for this summer to help me be more stable when carrying big loads up to our base camp. A bit of research tells me I have two options, antishock or standard.

I'm kind of leaning towards standard as it has less to go wrong, is more expensive and is heavier but I've never used poles before so really i have no idea, hopefully someone can help me out

Thanks in advance

calum
 GrahamD 11 May 2012
In reply to taylorct:

I've never seemn the point of antishock, since you place the tip of the pole on the ground, not hammer it in.

After years of being frustrated by none locking or seizing up pole mechanisms (from a variety of supposedly reputable makes) I''d go for flick lock mechanisms every time now.
 pog100 11 May 2012
In reply to taylorct:

I had anti-shock, which you can 'turn off', but in fact never used it. I prefer just a straightforward pole. It is also less likely to fail or corrode.
More important in my experience is the locking mechanism. 10 years using the 'internal expansion' Leki ones tells me that they have quite a few problems at times. I would definitely recommend one of the ones which has an external click lock mechanism. Some of the more recent Leki poles have this, and they work well, BD have had it on their poles for yonks.
 pog100 11 May 2012
In reply to GrahamD:

Snap!
In reply to taylorct: So it seems anti locking is a bit of a waste of money then?

Also i made a bit of an error in my initial post, i meant to say standard is lighter and cheaper.
almost sane 11 May 2012
In reply to taylorct:
I'd avoid anti-shock - more weight and more to go wrong for little benefit.